TEMPORARY EXHIBITION GALLERY A new spatial design for each exhibition


Partitions, a sequential arrangement of the tour, the addition of colour

Among the fundamental constituents of the Louvre-Lens, the choice of major exhibitions is essential to the project's success. For this reason an entire gallery of nearly 1800 m2 is devoted solely to this purpose. This gallery extends westward from the reception hall for a distance of 80 metres. At its westernmost end, it can be opened into the theatre space of La Scène.

The architecture of the Temporary Exhibition Gallery mirrors that of the Grande Galerie, by its location at the opposite end, by its arrangement all in one piece and by its overhead lighting. Its less monumental proportions and its interior walls left deliberately blank do however distinguish it clearly from the Grande Galerie. The vast open space thus created allows a new spatial arrangement to be designed for each exhibition. For the inaugural exhibition, a museographic design that was clearly different to that of the Galerie du Temps was chosen, using partitions and a sequential arrangement of the tour and the addition of colour. 

The programme

Two major temporary exhibitions of international importance will be held in this gallery every year, with the aim of drawing a wide regional, national and international audience.

The programme for these exhibitions will be decided in close cooperation with the programmes of the museums of the Nord-Pas de Calais region and of the Louvre in Paris. The coherence of the programme between the Louvre and the Louvre-Lens is the very basis of the scientific project and the same museographic quality will be offered with different programmes. The choice of curators and subjects is of key importance and is in line with the Louvre museum's tradition of excellence. The quality requirement goes hand in hand with the aim of creating exhibitions accessible to visitors of all kinds. Major exhibitions will be programmed twice a year, the first in the summer and the second in the winter. They will be designed so that exhibitions highlighting a specific period or place alternate with themes that take a transverse look across art history. The summer programme will attract tourists to the region, especially from abroad, and will ensure that the Louvre-Lens becomes part of the circuit of major summer exhibitions. By opening in June it also offers an opportunity for end-of-year outings to be organised for local schoolchildren. The summer-winter exhibitions are oriented towards presenting an artistic period or a civilisation with a more educational dimension.

The opening exhibition will be on the Renaissance.

The following exhibitions will be on "Rubens and Europe", and then on the Etruscans, thereby placing the Louvre-Lens at the heart of cultural events across Europe's regions.

LA GALERIE DES EXPOSITIONS TEMPORAIRES Une nouvelle scénographie à chaque exposition


Un cloisonnement, un séquençage du parcours, l'apport de la couleur

Parmi les composantes fondamentales du Louvre-Lens, le choix de grandes expositions est essentiel au succès du projet. Pour cette raison, une galerie entière de près de 1 800 m² est consacrée à ce seul usage. Cette galerie s'étire sur 80 mètres de long à l'Ouest du hall d'accueil. A son extrémité Ouest, elle pourra s'ouvrir sur l'espace scénique de La Scène.
L'architecture de la Galerie d'exposition temporaire fait écho à celle de la Grande galerie, par son implantation à l'extrémité opposée, par sa forme d'un seul tenant  et son éclairage zénithal. Ses proportions moins monumentales et ses murs intérieurs laissés volontairement blancs, l'en distinguent cependant nettement. Le vaste espace libre ainsi créé permet d'inventer une nouvelle scénographie à chaque exposition Pour l'exposition inaugurale, il a ainsi été retenu le parti d'une muséographie qui se distingue très nettement  de celle de la Galerie du Temps, par un cloisonnement et un séquençage du parcours et l'apport de la couleur.

La programmation

Chaque année, deux grandes expositions temporaires d'envergure internationale seront présentées dans cette galerie, avec pour vocation d'attirer un large public régional, national et international.
La programmation de ces expositions sera établie en étroite relation avec celle des musées de la région Nord-Pas de Calais et celle du Louvre à Paris. La cohérence de la programmation entre le Louvre et le Louvre-Lens est la base même du projet scientifique et offrira une même qualité de muséographie avec des programmes distincts. L'importance du choix des commissaires et des sujets est essentielle et conforme à la tradition d'excellence du musée du Louvre. L'exigence qualitative va de pair avec le souhait de concevoir des expositions accessibles à tous les publics. Les grandes expositions seront programmées deux fois par an, la première durant l'été et la seconde en hiver. Elles seront conçues de manière à alterner des expositions mettant en perspective une époque ou un lieu ou des thèmes transversaux à l'histoire de l'art. La programmation d'été permettra d'attirer dans la région un public touristique, en particulier étranger, et d'inscrire le Louvre-Lens dans le circuit des grandes expositions estivales. L'ouverture en mai-juin est l'occasion aussi d'offrir aux scolaires de la région une sortie de fin d'année. Les expositions d'été-hiver sont orientées vers la présentation d'une période artistique ou d'une civilisation, dans une dimension plus pédagogique.