HENRI LOYRETTEPresident and Director of the Louvre Museum

« Louvre-Lens…Two names separated by a hyphen.

One part is the Louvre, a palace that has followed closely the history of France since the middle ages. The Louvre, which became a museum in the middle of the French revolution and quickly became a model, the museum of museums, as it was often referred to in the 19th century.

The other half of the expression: Lens, in the heart of a coal region, a city that has been through all manner of crises and wars, a city located in what is now the youngest region of France, the Nord-Pas de Calais, a region reputed for its exceptional cultural vitality and the density of its museum networks. Lens, ideally situated at the crossroads of Europe, near Belgium, Great Britain and Germany. Lens, its face cast resolutely toward the future.

Lens, the Louvre: two names connected from now on, nearly merged, and called upon to fulfill a common destiny to serve the public, art and beauty.

This superb idea was conceived in 2003 and today has become a reality. This dream takes root in the early calling of the Louvre, which was conceived during the French revolution as a national museum whose collections and expertise serve the entire nation. Even at the start of the 19th century, Chaptal evoked that «sacred portion» the Louvre should give to the regions.We wanted to think of this new museum as a renewal and revivification of the bicentennial tradition bolstering the Louvre's national cultural mission by rotating in treasures of the Parisian palace for exhibitions.

The Minister of Culture put out a tender for sites throughout France: of all the regions, only Nord-Pas de Calais responded as a candidate, offering five cities, from among which Lens ultimately was selected by the President of the Republic. More than one hundred twenty candidates from the world over participated in the architectural design competition. The project selected in September, 2005 was that submitted by the Japanese architect SANAA, offering a decidedly contemporary building of glass and light that was both easily accessible and close to the ground, in harmony with the charming and fragile land of the site. 

The result is before us, exceeding our initial hopes and expectations. The Louvre-Lens is a place of beauty, a source of pride. After having seen it on paper and dreamed of it so long,with Daniel Percheron, the President of the Nord-Pas de Calais region, I can unreservedly state that, now in its material state, it is in my view one of the architectural masterpieces of the new millennium. It is a contemporary Louvre, built around a central pavilion, with wings, as is the Parisian palace. It is a contemporary Louvre, which subtly and delicately takes possession of the site, a magnificent piece of landscaping conceived and built by Catherine Mosbach.

The establishment of the Louvre-Lens is an opportunity for the Louvre to rethink its vocation, to consider its collections and to step outside of its walls and look at itself from a little distance. An opportunity to experiment with things that are not possible within the restricted envelope and organization of the Paris location.It is also an opportunity to test our social and artistic missions on new ground, emphasizing the importance of mediation.

This is why the collections will be exhibited temporarily and across the board, unlike what in Paris is separated into departments, schools and techniques. In sum, the Louvre-Lens is a museum of the 21st century, a museum that assumes all of its roles, artistic, social and educational; a museum that brings to light what is normally hidden and relies on the most modern information techniques. 

This « other » Louvre, this museum of glass and light, set deftly atop a former mine works, Shaft 9-9b of Lens, is not simply an annex of the Louvre, it is the Louvre itself. It is the Louvre in all its dimensions and all its components, in its geographic and chronological breadth, a universal museum. An amalgam in harmony offering new possibilities to visitors, such as going behind the scenes to find out about all the facets and professions of a museum, observing the restoration of art works in progress, going into the storage areas, understanding the guiding principles of conservation and museography.

The way the works are exhibited is also totally unprecedented. The Galerie du Temps, the backbone of the Louvre-Lens, displays that « long and visible progression of humanity », which for Charles Péguy characterizes the Louvre, providing new keys to understanding for visitors. It is another manner of discovering the works, which closely spaced and decategorized, opens a different channel to the world's methods.

The Louvre-Lens is the new wing of the Louvre where everything is possible. This is a chance for Lens, but also for the Louvre. An opportunity to shine and for renewal. A museum in the city, a place for enjoyment in the heart of Europe that exhibits and explains masterpieces from the past to help us understand the present and to imagine the future.

When I entered the world of museums thirty five years ago, they opened in the morning and closed at night, where involving visitors was scarcely a priority. Since then, museums have undergone considerable change, in their architecture, in their museography, but above all in the development of their vocation. Naturally, conservation and increasing collections remain the fundamental pursuits, but issues that were before considered only superficially or not at all, such as physical and intellectual accessibility are now core considerations. Now a museum must not only receive visitors who come to it spontaneously, but it must also take in hand those who, living apart from cultural experience, perceive it as removed and inaccessible. It must revisit the past, but it must also elicit the desire for contemporary creation and perspective, it must incorporate the latest developments, adapt to emerging new audiences and to the emergence and propagation of new technologies.

In this, museums take on a social and educational role, and their message must reach both the connoisseur and the neophyte, the child and the erudite, the foreigner and the man on the street.

Museums are no longer a world apart, timeless or concentrated solely on times long past. They participate in the life of a city, its economic development, its tourism, sustainable development processes and they play an artistic, social and educational role.

All of these considerations, these ambitions, these dreams guided us in creating the Louvre-Lens. The future of the Louvre is now in Lens. »

Henri LOYRETTE
 

DANIEL PERCHERON, President of the Nord-Pas de Calais Region

« Why put the Louvre in Lens?
 

Because I dreamed it! In 2003, I read a short item in Le Monde that an annex of the Louvre was to be established somewhere in the provinces. As President of the Region, I immediately thought that Nord-Pas de Calais could accommodate this annex. I am personally fascinated with Egyptology and the Louvre museum always captivated me. At the time, we were ensconced in the « Lille 2004, European Capital of Culture » theme. I wanted the Region to guide this event and I had launched a vast program baptized the « Carillons of culture »,which brought masterpieces into towns that had no museums. We also set up the Mariette exhibition in Boulogne-sur-Mer. On that occasion, I met Henry Loyrette, President and Director of the Louvre Museum. I asked him whether Lens would not be a ridiculous choice as a candidate.

He replied, « No, on the contrary, it would be excellent ».

The Regional Council of Nord-Pas de Calais is the principal in the Louvre-Lens project, its primary financier and purveyor of 80% of the EPCC's operating budget. Was the support of the regional institution a forgone conclusion?

By no means, the energy of desperation is what propelled this disproportionate ambition on the part of the Region. We need so badly to hold our heads up, to gaze at the horizon and to show the way to our population, that in many areas we take on the extraordinary gambles. I could have adopted the position of a « normal » Region President and sought funding from the Auditorium de Paris, the Opéra or even MuCem in Marseille, in a right-minded town where the previous government spent extensively. I did not do so because I am the President of the Nord-Pas de Calais region, I didn't do it because of the hundreds of thousands of jobs that have been bled from this region, I didn't do it because I respect the women and men of my region, I respect their patience and their courage. Through me, they have been treated to the Louvre and we recognize that they deserve it, and they deserve it a lot.

The most beautiful museum in the world is coming to the heart of the mining region; is this a bit of sweet revenge?

Certainly not. It is a grafting onto the genetic program of the region, an extraordinary opportunity for the mining region. We expect 500,000 visitors per year. The renowned landscaper Michel Desvigne was not wrong. He is going to transform the black archipelago to a green one, by redefining the mining cities and their landscaped areas. Euralens is going to open new development perspectives for us in the region, it will create a dynamic identical to that of Bilboa with the Guggenheim museum. There will finally be justice for all of those who worked the mines for coal! This is what made us decide on free entrance to the park and the Galerie du temps. I can say to the people of Lens, and to the inhabitants of the region,this museum is yours, you are at home!

Did museum coming to Lens play a part in ranking the mining area a Unesco heritage

site?

I think so. When I was interviewed, I was told that our heritage assets didn't have an area of focus. Now, thanks to Louvre-Lens, it has acquired centrality. The establishment of the museum and the activity that has arisen with it have bolstered the credibility of our candidacy as an example of evolving cultural heritage.

Does the Louvre in Lens risk overshadowing other regional museums?

Just the opposite is true! We are using the opening of the Louvre-Lens to attract the entire world's attention to the museographic vitality of Nord-Pas de Calais. With 49 museums labeled Musée de France and over 150 themed museums, we are a genuine « Region of museums ». We are the only region that offers visitors the coaches of Versailles and the collections of the Louvre on the same territory. »

Daniel Percheron

HENRI LOYRETTE, Président-directeur du musée du Louvre

«Louvre-Lens… Deux noms reliés par un trait d'union.

D'un côté, le Louvre, un palais qui depuis le Moyen Âge accompagne étroitement l'histoire de France. Le Louvre, devenu musée au cœur de la Révolution française, s'imposant vite comme un modèle, le «musée des musées», comme on l'a souvent qualifié depuis le 19e siècle.

Et Lens, au cœur du Bassin minier, ville qui a souffert de toutes les crises et de toutes les guerres, ville située dans la région aujourd'hui la plus jeune de France, le Nord-Pas de Calais, une région réputée pour son exceptionnel dynamisme culturel et la densité de son réseau muséal. Lens, idéalement située au carrefour de l'Europe, à proximité de la Belgique, de l'Angleterre, de l'Allemagne. Lens, une ville résolument tournée vers l'avenir.

Lens, le Louvre : deux noms désormais liés, presque fusionnés et appelés à partager un destin commun, au service des publics, de l'art, de la beauté.

C'est en 2003 qu'a germé cette belle idée, ce rêve aujourd'hui devenu réalité. Ce rêve, il prend ses racines dans la vocation même du Louvre, conçu dès son origine, durant la Révolution, comme un musée national dont les collections et le savoir-faire sont au service de l'ensemble de la nation. Au début du 19e siècle, déjà, Chaptal évoquait cette «part sacrée» que le Louvre devait réserver aux régions. C'est pour renouveler et revivifier cette tradition bicentenaire que nous avons voulu imaginer ce musée nouveau, qui renforce la vocation nationale du Louvre en présentant par rotations des chefs-d'œuvre venus du palais parisien.

Le ministère de la Culture a lancé un appel à projets à travers toute la France ; la région Nord-Pas de Calais s'est seule portée candidate, proposant cinq villes ; et c'est le site de Lens qui a finalement été retenu par le président de la République. Plus de cent vingt candidats, venus des quatre coins du monde, ont participé au concours d'architecture. Le projet retenu en septembre 2005 a été celui de l'agence japonaise SANAA, qui proposait un bâtiment de verre et de lumière résolument contemporain, facilement accessible, proche du terrain, en continuité avec ce paysage ravissant mais fragile.

Et le résultat est là, au-delà même de nos espérances initiales. Le Louvre-Lens est un lieu de beauté, mais aussi de fierté. Pour l'avoir tant rêvé et vu sur le papier, avec Daniel Percheron, Président de la Région Nord-Pas de Calais, je n'hésite pas à le dire, maintenant qu'il s'incarne enfin, il est à mes yeux l'un des chefs-d'œuvre architecturaux de ce nouveau millénaire. C'est un Louvre contemporain qui s'articule autour d'un pavillon central, sur lequel se greffent des ailes, comme dans le palais parisien. Un Louvre contemporain qui s'intègre de façon très subtile et délicate dans le site, ce magnifique écrin paysager pensé et réalisé par Catherine Mosbach.

La création du Louvre-Lens est l'occasion, pour le Louvre, de reconsidérer ses missions, d'interroger ses collections, de sortir de ses murs et de se regarder d'un peu plus loin. L'occasion d'expérimenter ce qui ne peut l'être dans l'enveloppe et l'organisation contraintes du palais parisien. L'occasion, aussi, d'éprouver sur un terrain neuf notre vocation sociale et notre mission d'éducation artistique, en soulignant notamment l'importance de la médiation.

C'est pour cela que les collections sont présentées de façon temporaire et transversale, réunissant ce qui, à Paris, est séparé en départements, en écoles, en techniques. Bref, le Louvre-Lens est un musée du 21e siècle, un musée dans tous ses rôles, artistique, social, éducatif, un musée qui rend visible ce qui est d'ordinaire dissimulé, et fait appel aux techniques les plus modernes d'information.

Cet «autre Louvre», ce musée de verre et de lumière, délicatement posé sur un ancien carreau de mine, la fosse 9-9 bis de Lens, n'est pas une simple annexe du Louvre, mais le Louvre même. Le Louvre dans toutes ses dimensions et toutes ses composantes, dans son amplitude géographique et chronologique de musée universel. Une synthèse harmonieuse qui offre des possibilités nouvelles pour les visiteurs : ils peuvent en effet accéder aux coulisses et découvrir toutes les facettes et métiers d'un musée, suivre la restauration d'une œuvre, accéder aux réserves, comprendre les grands principes de la conservation et de la muséographie.

Le mode de présentation des œuvres est lui aussi totalement inédit. La Galerie du temps, épine dorsale du Louvre-Lens, montre ce «long et visible cheminement de l'humanité», qui pour Charles Péguy caractérise le Louvre, en offrant aux visiteurs de nouvelles clefs de compréhension. C'est une autre façon de découvrir les œuvres, qui, rapprochées, confrontées, nous ouvrent les registres du monde.

Le Louvre-Lens, c'est une nouvelle aile du Louvre où tout devient possible. C'est une chance pour Lens, mais aussi pour le Louvre. Une occasion de rayonnement et de renouveau. Un musée dans la cité, un lieu de délectation au cœur de l'Europe qui expose et explique les chefs-d'œuvre du passé pour nous aider à comprendre le présent et à envisager l'avenir.

Quand je suis entré dans le monde des musées, il y a trente-cinq ans, on ouvrait le matin et on fermait le soir, avec un souci bien limité des visiteurs. Depuis, les musées ont connu une mutation considérable, dans leur architecture, dans leur muséographie, mais surtout par l'élargissement de leur vocation. Certes la conservation et l'enrichissement des collections restent leurs missions fondamentales, mais des questions naguère peu ou pas considérées, comme l'accessibilité (physique, intellectuelle), sont désormais au cœur de leurs préoccupations. Le musée doit aujourd'hui non seulement recevoir les visiteurs qui y viennent naturellement, mais aussi prendre par la main ceux qui, éloignés des pratiques culturelles, le perçoivent comme lointain, et inaccessible. Il doit se pencher sur le passé, mais aussi susciter la création et le regard contemporains, intégrer les dernières évolutions de la connaissance, s'adapter à l'émergence de nouveaux publics, à l'apparition et à la diffusion de nouvelles technologies.

En cela, les musées jouent un rôle social et éducatif, et leur propos doit à la fois toucher le connaisseur et le néophyte, l'enfant et le savant, l'étranger et le voisin.

Les musées ne constituent plus un monde à part, intemporel ou seulement tourné vers un jadis révolu : ils participent à la vie de la cité, au développement économique, au tourisme, au développement durable, jouent pleinement leur rôle artistique, social et éducatif.

Toutes ces considérations, toutes ces ambitions, tous ces rêves, aussi, nous ont guidés en créant le Louvre-Lens. L'avenir du Louvre passe désormais par Lens.»

Henri LOYRETTE

 

DANIEL PERCHERON, Président de la Région Nord-Pas de Calais

«Pourquoi le Louvre à Lens ?

Parce que j'en ai rêvé ! En 2003, j'ai lu dans un entrefilet du journal Le Monde, qu'il y aurait une antenne du Louvre en province. En tant que Président de Région, j'ai immédiatement pensé que le Nord-Pas de Calais pouvait accueillir cette antenne. À titre personnel, je suis passionné d'égyptologie, et le musée du Louvre m'a toujours fasciné. Nous étions alors en pleine dynamique «Lille 2004, capitale européenne de la culture». Je voulais que la Région accompagne cet événement et j'avais initié une vaste opération baptisée les «Beffrois de la culture», qui amenait des chefs-d'œuvre dans des villes où il n'y avait pas de musée. Nous avions également organisé l'exposition «Mariette» à Boulogne-sur-Mer. C'est à cette occasion que j'ai rencontré le Président-directeur du musée du Louvre, Henri Loyrette. Je lui ai demandé si la candidature de Lens serait ridicule.

Il m'a répondu  : «Non, au contraire».

Le Conseil régional Nord-Pas de Calais est le maître d'ouvrage du Louvre-Lens, son principal financeur et il assurera 80 % du budget de fonctionnement de l'EPCC. L'investissement de l'institution régionale allait-il de soi ?

Non, en aucun cas, il y a dans cette démesure du rôle de la Région, l'énergie du désespoir. Nous avons tellement besoin de relever la tête, de fixer l'horizon, de montrer le chemin à notre population que nous acceptons dans beaucoup de domaines ces paris hors du commun.

J'aurais pu comme un bon  Président de Région «normal» me référer au financement de l'Auditorium de Paris, de l'Opéra, ou encore du MuCem à Marseille dans une ville bien pensante où le gouvernement précédent a largement dépensé.

Je ne l'ai pas fait car je suis le Président de la Région Nord-Pas de Calais, je ne l'ai pas voulu parce que c'est par centaines de milliers d'emplois que la région s'est vidée de son sang, je ne l'ai pas dit parce que je respecte les femmes et les hommes de ma région, leur patience, leur courage. A travers moi, ils se sont offert le Louvre et reconnaissons qu'ils le méritaient et qu'ils le mériteront bien.

Le plus beau musée du monde qui s'installe au cœur du Bassin minier, c'est donc une revanche ?

Non. C'est une greffe sur le programme génétique de la région, une chance extraordinaire pour le Bassin minier. Nous attendons 500 000 visiteurs par an. Le grand paysagiste Michel Desvigne ne s'y est pas trompé : il va transformer l'archipel noir en un archipel vert, en requalifiant les cités minières et leurs jardins. Avec Euralens, nous allons ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives de développement dans cette région, créer une dynamique identique à celle de Bilbao autour du musée Guggenheim. Justice est enfin rendue à ceux qui ont tant travaillé pour extraire le charbon ! Et c'est pour cela que nous avons décidé la gratuité pour le parc et la Galerie du temps. Je veux pouvoir dire aux Lensois, et aux habitants de la région : ce musée est à vous, vous êtes chez vous !

L'implantation du Louvre a-t-elle joué dans le classement du Bassin minier au patrimoine de l'Unesco ?

Je pense que oui. Lorsque j'ai été auditionné, on m'a fait remarquer que notre patrimoine n'avait pas de réel périmètre. Grâce au Louvre-Lens, il a désormais une centralité. L'arrivée du musée et la mise en mouvement qui en a découlé ont renforcé la crédibilité de notre candidature au titre du «patrimoine culturel évolutif».

Le Louvre à Lens ne risque-t-il pas de faire de l'ombre aux autres musées régionaux ?

Au contraire ! Nous profitons de l'ouverture du Louvre-Lens pour attirer l'attention du monde entier sur la richesse muséographique du Nord-Pas de Calais. Avec 49 musées labellisés Musée de France et plus de 150 musées thématiques, nous sommes véritablement la «Région des musées». Nous sommes la seule région qui offre au visiteur les carrosses de Versailles et les collections du Louvre sur un même territoire.»

Daniel Percheron